The Magic Frame: Isolation

RajivMFSquare_1

Isolation Isolation

When composing a photograph, I have often heard it say – isolate and simplify.

I spoke of simplicity the last time that I wrote about “The Magic Frame”. Let’s go into isolation. What they do not mean, when they speak of isolation, is that you go to a desert, or a lonely mountain and start shooting. That is a viable option for those who want to go off and become hermits. It is also a good option if the intent is to shoot isolated and lonely places.

What they mean, is that you need to isolate the central element, or elements, in a photograph and concentrate on them.

In my earlier days, my photos used to be a jumble of elements put together in a rather awkward fashion. I think it also reflected the state of my mind, where I wanted to have everything. I wanted it all –…

View original post 170 more words

Leave a Reply

