Hanging Off The Precipice 

Behind the White Coat

Man standing on a rock at the beach in Hawaii

“No worries, Doc. We have her info. We will make sure we get her in ASAP. I promise.”

I had met the patient twice. In less than a week I had diagnosed her with cancer that had metastasized throughout her body and told her that the prognosis was not good.

My next job was getting her into the oncologist STAT. She was hanging over the edge by a thread. Understandable, given the circumstances.

The pleasant voice on the other line, the woman’s helpfulness threw me off. I had been prepared to do battle to get the patient in. Instead there was no resistance. Instead, there was compassion and understanding.

“Ok, but please call me after you get her set up so I can know it got done and when her appointment will be.” So I can raise holy hell when you schedule it for three weeks out…

I was called…

View original post 112 more words

Leave a Reply

