Be pro-voice: Aspen Baker flips the conversation on abortion at TEDWomen 2015

#EmpoweredChoicesMakeTheBestDecisions

“Empowered Choices Make The Best Decisions”
and sometimes they just make the bestest ones, and sometimes, they are epic decisions. Whatever decision it is, you may make it according to your own judgment. Seek advice from those you trust the most, and mostly, trust yourself that the decision you make is the right one for you. No matter what your journey is, do the best you can and seek to empower your decision making process as often as possible.

TED Blog

Aspen Baker speaks at TEDWomen2015 - Momentum, Session 5 May 28, 2015, Monterey Conference Center, Monterey, California, USA. Photo: Marla Aufmuth/TED Aspen Baker speaks at TEDWomen2015 – Momentum, Session 5 May 28, 2015, Monterey Conference Center, Monterey, California, USA. Photo: Marla Aufmuth/TED

Aspen Baker had just graduated from college when she found out she was pregnant. She was sitting at the bar where she worked and her co-worker, Polly, asked if she wanted a drink. Baker had to confess, “I’m pregnant. I’m not sure what I’m going to do yet.”

“Without hesitation, Polly replied: ‘Oh, I’ve had an abortion,'” remembers Baker on the TEDWomen 2015 stage. “Before Polly, no one had ever told me that.”

Baker grew up in Southern California — her parents were “surfing Christians” and religion was a central theme of life. “As a kid, the idea of abortion made me so sad that I knew if I ever got pregnant, I could never have one,” says Baker.

“And, then I did.”

Polly’s openness helped her, says Baker. “Polly gave me a very special gift: the knowledge…

View original post 583 more words

Leave a Reply

