Nikohl Vandel:

i bit 2 many words for me to “Like”, but the point is important. Are you an artist or are you someone that just can do a job? And, knowing that in the life of a reality, there is a time when one or the other is more effective. The key to doing anything well is to be in the moment.

Originally posted on Gigaom:

When I founded my own startup, I thought I knew what I was getting into: after all, I had been a senior manager at eBay (s EBAY), managing director at Gumtree and chief operating officer at Zoopla. But since starting Adzuna in 2011, I’ve realized that being a founder can be very, very different. Here are some things I’ve learned in the past two years.

Learning to sell

As a finance guy who became a general manager, I’ve always been driven by strategy, product and marketing, and never valued sales. Sales was something I looked down on — a commodity role staffed by poorly qualified “liars for hire”, something you didn’t need if you had good product and marketing, or a necessary evil to get the word out.

As a founder, I sell every day, to investors, to staff, to the government, but also to customers, so that we can…

View original 851 more words

Leave a Reply

